top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKathryn Eary

September Updates

This month was spent reflecting on artwork and exploring creative interests of my own. While I started planning trips to local art galleries and museums, I wanted to begin a creation of my own artwork, inspired by the street art I saw in August. The bold graffiti art and murals inspired me to utilize eye-catching colors and a graphic design. The media I chose was acrylic paint; I wanted to learn how to do acrylic pour art on a canvas. I thought this would be an interesting way to creatively express my takeaways from the street art exploration.


I began with some research, that taught me there was some science involved in this art project (which I was fond of, of course). I gathered the necessary materials, made note of the mixture ratios for the paint and pouring medium, watched a few instructional YouTube videos, and set off to attempt this artwork.


My first attempt (pictured below) was with cool toned colors. After I poured the paint and tilted the canvas to create an interesting design, I concluded that my paint/pouring medium ratio was too thin and I wanted to try a second attempt.


For my second attempt (pictured below) I used a warm toned color pallet. I adjusted my paint/pouring medium ratios, which resulted in a much different outcome. Overall, I was happy with the art I created that was influenced by local street art. I especially liked how at first glance, the art is bold and colorful, but when you look closer you start to notice unique shapes and patterns on the canvas. I realized that acrylic pour art does not have repeatable outcomes, which is similar to how every piece of street art is unique.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page