top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKathryn Eary

Local Artists and a Landscape Painting

Although December began with a stressful start (full of studying and exams), I was able to utilize art as a way to practice mindfulness and keep my cool. This month reminded me of the great meditative quality that art possesses, and made me grateful that I am completing this project this semester.


The personal artwork I completed this month is probably my favorite throughout the course of this project. I chose to paint a landscape on canvas. Inspired by YouTube videos and tutorials, I was able to complete a scene depicting the moon overlooking mountains and a reflective lake. Below is an image of the painting I completed. I reached out to a representative from Cancer Family Care, and this painting will be donated to their office.





The art establishment I would like to spotlight in this post is Cincinnati Art Galleries, LLC. Unfortunately, I was not able to visit Cincinnati Art Galleries, LLC in person; however, they offer an extensive collection that can be viewed online. Cincinnati Art Galleries, LLC. is a fine art gallery located in downtown Cincinnati that contains works by artists from the Cincinnati Golden Age, as well as contemporary artists. This establishment differs from others I have previously written about because it offers artworks for sale--with proceeds benefiting other local establishments.


The particular exhibition that caught my interest was the Panorama of Cincinnati Art XXXV, a collection of over 150 artworks by Cincinnati artists. This is an annual exhibition and sale that Cincinnati Art Galleries, LLC organizes. The exhibition contains a depiction of the rich Cincinnati history and culture that is truly interesting to look through. I noticed many elaborate gold frames, detailed oil portraits, and beautiful landscapes from the Cincinnati area.


For me, one of the most interesting parts of admiring this exhibition was noticing the extreme prices that the artworks were going for--and noticing that some had already been sold for those amounts. This reinstated the idea that the Cincinnati community greatly values its artists and art culture, and it made me proud to be a Cincinnatian with the opportunity to absorb a taste of the art that the Queen City has to offer.


If you are interested in viewing virtual collections and exhibitions from Cincinnati Art Galleries, LLC, follow the link below:

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page