top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKathryn Eary

October Activities

Updated: Dec 29, 2020

This month I visited the Taft Museum of Art. I really enjoyed this experience and would recommend for people in the area to visit as well. The museum was extremely accessible and offered on site free parking, as well as free tickets for entry on Sundays. I was able to admire the permanent exhibit: "A Splendid Century: Cincinnati Art 1820-1920". This collection displays artwork from the century that the historic Taft house was a private residence. The families that lived in the house during that time included the Baums, Longworths, and Sinton/Tafts. These families saw the city of Cincinnati transform into the creative capital it is today. Art in this collection was chosen to reflect this creative growth for the city, while including some pieces that revealed a less "splendid" experience throughout the century. I noticed many fancy portraits, beautiful landscapes of the city, and a few more sobering pieces that displayed the hardships many Cincinnatians have had to endure. Below are a few of the pieces that stood out to me during my visit that I would like to share on this blog.








16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page